California Auto Insurance Laws and Car Insurance Requirements

California auto insurance laws, just like those for most other states, have been put in place to ensure that all roads and highways remain safe for users. Due to the fact that California is not a no-liability state, drivers without adequate cover who then cause accidents can be liable for paying large sums of expenses to cover injury and damage. Having proper insurance protection can help mitigate such expenses.

All road vehicles with exception of trailers, off-highway vehicles and vehicles that are registered to a government entity are required to carry insurance. California auto insurance requirements stipulate that minimum liability insurance is required and that drivers must carry proof of coverage with them at all times while operating their vehicles.

California auto insurance laws stipulate a minimum coverage of $15,000 for injury or death of one person, $30,000 for death or injury of more than one person and $5,000 for property damage maximum for one accident. Drivers are required to secure coverage within 30 days after first registering a vehicle. If a driver change or cancel policies, he or she has 45 days to get replacement insurance. Drivers you fail to meet these deadlines can expect to face penalties including fines, suspension or termination of their registration and impounding of their vehicles.

In California, the auto laws also stipulate that drivers show proof of insurance at the scene of any accident, when pulled over for a traffic stop by a police officer and when they renew their registration. Under California law, all insurance companies are required to report private vehicle policies to the local state authorities. This gives the state information as to whether or not your vehicle is properly covered and the expiration date of your coverage.

California auto insurance requirements also stipulate that when drivers fail to provide proof of insurance when pulled over by a police officer, they are liable to receive a traffic ticket carrying a fine of $1,000 or more and their vehicles can be impounded. Drivers who receive a traffic ticket will need to go through the court system in order to get their violations cleared and their driving privileges reinstated.

In addition, if you fail to replace their insurance policy within 45 days of expiration or if your insurer fails to electronically notify the state of your policy within 30 days after its issuance, your registration could be suspended. An initial first offense for failure to carry proper insurance normally starts at $200.

The provisions of California auto insurance laws stipulate that drivers must be able to prove financial responsibility, meaning that they are able to cover any expenses incurred as a result of an accident. This can be done with a valid auto insurance policy. You can also prove financial responsibility by making a cash deposit of $35,000 with the DMV; or putting down a surety bond for $35,000 or a certificate of self-insurance.

Traffic safety is considered a very serious matter by the authorities in California. It is extremely important that all vehicles are properly covered to ensure the well being of all road users in the state. Negligence on this issue can result in a lot of trouble. By simply making sure your car meets all the statutory insurance laws, you will be able to drive with confidence.

This entry was posted in Law and Issues and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.